Work Hard, Plant Hard

Planty Places

Here I'll keep a running list of places I've been and those I'd like to visit, including botanical gardens, nurseries, conservatories and plant shops. Please message me or tag #plantyplaces on Instagram if you have suggestions or photos to share, as I hope we can inspire each other with our plant travels! I add more all the time, so check back! Starred places are on my bucket list - haven't been yet! They are alphabetized first by states in the United States (I don't mean to be US-centric but it's where I live and have the most information on), and then by countries Internationally. Enjoy!


United States

California

San Diego (current hometown):

  • San Diego Botanical Building at Balboa Park. Free gorgeous botanic house located on the grounds of Balboa Park near downtown San Diego. Balboa park is also home to many museums, restaurants, and the zoo.  https://www.balboapark.org/gardens/botanical-building

  • San Diego Zoo - a Botanic Garden as well!

  • Solana Succulents www.solanasucculents.com and @solanasucculents. Jeff Moore owns and operates this darling nursery filled with succulents and cacti, some quite rare species. Jeff is incredibly knowledgeable about his plants! Also a great simple pottery selection. Kids enjoyed playing hide-and-seek in the nooks and crannies.

  • Barrels and Branches Nursery. Encinitas nursery offering many succulent varieties, vegetables, houseplants, airplants, and more. My go-to for modern pottery near my home. They also host great workshops and you can rent the beautiful space for events.  http://www.barrelsandbranches.com/

  • Weidner's Gardens. Wholesale and resale nursery. Lots of succulents and landscape plants. Good houseplant and airplant selection as well, with some cute pots.  https://weidners.com/

  • Anderson's La Costa Nursery, Large selection of succulents, cacti, landscape plants, gardening/plant gear, pots, and a very large houseplant greenhouse. I've found some rare plants here too!  https://www.andersonslacostanursery.com/

  • Cordova Gardens nursery. Large selection of succulents, hanging plants, pottery, and huge houseplant collection. Many peperomia and hoya are usually available. Fiddle fig forest on my IG feed. http://cordovagardens.com/

  • Sunshine Gardens. Lots of landscape plants. Small but darling houseplant selection. Large aquatic plant selection. Great place to take the kids - they have goats to visit and carp to see! http://sunshinegardensinc.com/

  • Leucadia Floral. Make your own potted succulents, find some cool houseplants (I found my rope hoya and parachute plants here). Cute terra cotta pottery. On instagram @leucadiafloral

  • Gardens by the Sea Nursery. Very large but somewhat hidden nursery with a huge succulent collection, a lovely houseplant greenhouse, and a cactus house. Need I say more? I saw more silver dollar plants (Xerosicyos danguyi - a hard to find succulent) here than I ever have.  www.gardensbytheseanursery.com

  • San Diego Botanic Garden. Beatiful outdoor botanic garden in the hills of Encinitas.  http://www.sdbgarden.org/

  • (Tip - the above 9 spots are within 10-15 minutes of each other. Makes for a good long plant tour!)

  • California Pacific Orchid Farm. If you love orchids you must visit! Close to the spots above. They sell beautiful orchids and will also house your orchids in their "orchid hotel" between blooming for a small monthly fee. They repot and call you when it's ready to pick up! http://www.calpacificorchids.com/

  • The Succulent Cafe 505 Oak Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008. Succulents and coffee. Small but great non-succulent houseplant collection as well.

  • Liv 3 @shopliv3 San Marcos, CA. Plants, gifts and clothing. Lots of little cacti and hanging hoya with beautiful planters to put them in!

  • Green Thumb nursery San Marcos, CA. Very close to Liv 3! http://www.greenthumb.com/green-thumb-nursery-san-marcos-san-diegos-best/

  • *Grigsby Cactus Garden in Vista http://cactus-mall.com/grigsby/

  • North County Roots Nursery in Vista. Very large wholesale/resale succulent nursery with excellent prices and finds - not usually open on weekends FYI but check! Instagram @north_county_roots_nursery

  • Rancho Soledad Nursery. 30 acres of plants all for sale. Lots of landscape plants, but many succulents and tropical for sale. You can ask to be escorted around in a golf card and load your goodies as you go! Found my Alocasia zebrina here.  http://www.ranchosoledad.com/?doing_wp_cron=1514391701.0239050388336181640625

  • *Waterwise Botanicals Bonsall, CA (north SD county) @waterwisebotanicals https://www.waterwisebotanicals.com/

  • Eden plant shop. Darling small plant shop in the University Heights area of San Diego.  Just opened fall 2017. Instagram @eden.sd.

  • North Park Nursery. Sister nursery to Eden plant shop. Lots of succulents, houseplants, and darling pots.  http://northparknursery.com/

  • Pigment. Plants, succulents, and gifts. Check their active IG feed for more. @shoppigment  https://www.shoppigment.com/

  • (Tip - the above 3 spots are very close together and make a nice mini plant tour!)

  • Botanica Home and Garden in Ocean Beach  @botanica_home http://www.botanicahomeandgarden.com/

  • Walter Anderson's Nursery - San Diego and Poway. Large family owned nursery with lots of succulents and landscape plants, plenty of pottery, and though small some really good houseplant finds like hoya and calathea varieties.

Los Angeles Area

  • Huntington Library and Botanical Gardens - MUST VISIT. Absolutely incredible place.

  • Los Angeles Arboretum - MUST VISIT. Absolutely incredible place.

  • Folia Collective - upscale gorgeous little plant/plant accessories shop in Pasadena

  • Tip - the above 3 spots are within about 20 min of each other and make for a good little (big?) plants tour.

  • *San Gabriel Nursery http://sgnurserynews.com/

  • Rainforest Flora - experts in airplants with a HUGE selection. Also an amazing place to visit - like a botanic garden. Waterfalls, turtles, tropical vibes.

  • Toro Nursery http://toronursery.com/

  • Right Tribe shoprighttribe.com - hidden on a side alley in Manhattan Beach, CA. Owners make their own leather goods including plant hangers. Plants for sale as well as lots of cute goodies to pair with plants.

  • *Los Angeles Flower District

  • *Ponderosa Cactus http://ponderosacactus.com/

  • *Potted Glendale https://pottedstore.com/

  • *Mickey's Plants http://m.mickeysplants.com

  • *California Nursery Specialties Cactus Ranch

  • Rolling Greens - HUGE houseplant and pottery selection! Also found my large philodendron "pink princess" here.

  • *Sunset Blvd Nursery. www.sunsetblvdnursery.com @sunsetblvdnursery

  • *California Nursery Specialties Cactus Ranch (Thousand Oaks area)

  • Peacock & Co (Long Beach) @peacockandcompany - small but sweet plant shop with a great selection of plants and pots. Super nice owner. Shared space with a cute little boutique.

  • 6th and Detroit (Long Beach) - plants and vintage. Need I say more?

  • Organic Designs by Aggelige (Orange County - look for the airstream at The Camp). Airplants in cute pots.

Inland from LA - Riverside/San Bernardino Counties

  • Piep. Darling plant shop in downtown Riverside. Family owned. They grow and sell pilea but they sell lots of other great plants, too. I found my heart shaped hoya and two of my rhipsalis here. On IG @piep.co

  • *Shop Road Trip (Lake Arrowhead area) shoproadtripca.com

Palm Springs

  • Moorten Botanical Garden. Privately owned botanic garden in the heart of Palm Springs with a dreamy cactarium, many cacti and desert succulent species some very unusual. They do sell some plants and pots here, too! http://moortenbotanicalgarden.com/

Central California

  • Grow Nursery www.grownursery.com @grownursery in Cambria

San Francisco/Oakland/Bay Area

  • Sloat Garden Center  http://www.sloatgardens.com/ - lots of locations including the Marina district in San Fran proper. I got some great succulents here. It looks like a tiny plant shop but is much larger than it seems from the outside!

  • *The Dry Garden (Oakland)

  • *Flora Grubb Gardens http://www.floragrubb.com/

  • *Paxton Gate https://paxtongate.com/paxton/plants-garden

  • *Cactus Jungle nursery

  • *Succulence https://www.thesucculence.com/

  • *Clement Nursery https://www.facebook.com/clementnursery

Santa Cruz/Half Moon Bay area

  • *Dig Gardens https://diggardens.com/ @diggardens (thanks to @kolokea for this rec!)

  • *Half Moon Bay Nursery. @halfmoonbaynursery

  • More in Half Moon Bay listed here: https://www.visithalfmoonbay.org/northern-california-nurseries

  • *The Dry Garden Nursery @the_dry_garden_nursery

Colorado

  • Creekside Garden Center Fort Collins http://tbhaynie.wixsite.com/creekside

Delaware

*Inland Bays Garden Center

Florida (spent four years living in North Florida and can't wait to do a state plant tour!)

  • *Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden (Miami area)

  • *Fancy Free Nursery (Tampa area)

  • *Miami Beach Botanical Garden

  • *Local Gardens by Margo @localgardensbymargo in Tarpon Springs.

  • *Till Plant Company @tillplantcompany - darling vintage trailer pop-up plant shop in the Orlando area.

  • *Florida Cactus nursery north of Orlando. @florida.cactus

  • *Craft & Common - coffee shop in downtown Orlando with plants from @landofalicestudio. @craftandcommon

  • *Sunken Gardens in St. Petersburg. www.stpete.org/sunken @sunkengardensstpete

Georgia

*Flora/Fauna ATL - Plant Boutique in Atlanda @florafaunaatl

Hawaii (former hometown, where I was raised)

  • Kauai - Limahuli Garden and Preserve. Incredible botanic garden on the North Shore of Kauai. If you like tropical plants then this is your spot!  https://ntbg.org/gardens/limahuli

  • Oahu - Lyon Arboretum https://manoa.hawaii.edu/lyonarboretum/gardens/

  • Oahu - Paiko plant shop. www.paikohawaii.com. IG @paikohawaii. Workshops, build your own terrarium or succulent potted mix, and pick up some very nice plant accessories.

  • Oahu - Ginger13. Wonderful houseplant and pottery selection. Grab a beautiful piece of custom jewelry while you shop for plants! ginger13.com @ginger13hawaii

  • Oahu - Ho'omaluhia Botanical Garden

  • Oahu - Foster Botanical Garden

  • Oahu - Lili'uokalani Botanical Garden

  • Oahu - Moanalua Gardens

  • Oahu - Wahiawa Botanical Garden

  • Oahu - Waimea Botanical Garden

  • Oahu - *KCC Cactus Garden

  • Oahu - Koko Crater Botanical Garden

  • *Once Again Hawaii succulent shop - @onceagainhawaii - call first! They are not always open during their listed hours. They do pop-ups elsewhere on the Island as well. 

Illinois

(I was born in Chicago and I think I went to the first 2 when I was young, which is why they aren't starred. Can't wait to go back though!)

  • Garfield Park Conservatory Chicago, IL https://garfieldconservatory.org/

  • Chicago Botanic Garden https://www.chicagobotanic.org/

  • *Plant Shop Chicago @plantshopchicago and plantshopchicago.com/

  • *Sprout Home Chicago www.sprouthome.com and @sprouthomechicago

Iowa

Des Moines

  • *DSM Botanical Gardens http://www.dmbotanicalgarden.com/

  • *Art Terrarium https://artterrarium.com/

Massachusetts 

  • Sylvan Nursery in Westport http://sylvannurseries.com/

Michigan

  • *Matthaei Botanical Garden and Nichols Arboretum, University of Michigan https://mbgna.umich.edu/

Minnesota

  • *Como Park Zoo and Conservatory St. Paul, MN http://www.comozooconservatory.org/ @comoparkzooandconservatory

  • *Tonkadale Greenhouse https://tonkadale.com/

  • *Mother Earth Gardens @motherearthgardens http://www.motherearthgarden.com/

Nebraska

  • *Lauritzen Gardens https://www.lauritzengardens.org/

New Orleans

  • *New Orleans Botanical Garden

New York

  • *The Sill @thesill and https://www.thesill.com/

  • *28th Street - from the sounds of it, lots of planty spots on this street!

  • *Brooklyn Botanic Garden

  • *Wave Hill (Bronx) Public Garden and Cultural Center. https://www.wavehill.org/

  • *Plant Shed NYC www.plantshed.com/ and @plantshednyc - lots of plants and pots!

  • *Sprout Home Brooklyn https://sprouthome.com/ and @sprouthomebrooklyn - great selection of succulents, cacti and pots

  • *Green Fingers Market www.greenfingersnyc.com @greenfingersmarket

  • *Add Water And Light. Queens. @addwaterandlight.

North Carolina

  • *Reynolda Gardens in Winston-Salem, NC @reynoldagardenswfu http://reynoldagardens.org/

  • *Pender Pines Garden Center in Hampstead. www.penderpines.com

Ohio

  • *Miller Nature Preserve in Avon. @mnplcmetroparks http://www.metroparks.cc/miller_nature_preserve.php

Oklahoma

Oregon

Portland (former hometown):

  • Pistils. If you are a plant person on Instagram, then I don't need to tell you! For everyone else, Pistils is a plant shop in North Portland selling beautiful plants and plant accessories. Some of their plants are not for sale but beautiful to visit nonetheless. @pistilsnursery  http://pistilsnursery.com/

  • Solabee. Not far from Pistils, Solabee is a plant and flower shop in North Portland also home to amazing specimens. They sell great plant accessories as well. @solabeeflowers,  http://www.solabeeflowers.com/

  • Appetite. In Southeast Portland, a shop specializing in vintage (furniture, home goods, etc) and plants including many cool cacti. They have already potted plants as well as mix and match. They also make their own foliage printed curtains and canvas cache pots.  https://appetiteshop.com/

  • Portland Nursery. Great spot in Portland for all kinds of plants, many sizes and shapes available!  https://portlandnursery.com/

  • Japanese Garden. https://japanesegarden.org/

  • Rose Garden https://www.portlandoregon.gov/parks/finder/index.cfm?action=ViewPark&PropertyID=1113

  • *Pomarius Nursery http://www.pomariusnursery.com/

  • *Birds and Bees Nursery

  • *Hammer and Vine hammerandvine.com

  • *The Potted Elephant - appointment only - outside Portland in Hubbard.

  • *Cistus Nursery on Sauvie Island http://www.cistus.com/

  • *Gurton's Plant Shop in Hillsdale @gurtonsplantshop https://www.gurtons.com/

  • *Uflora Plant House in Newberg (outside Portland) @ufloraplanthouse and https://www.ufloraplanthouse.com/

  • *Lovejoy Workshop in Tanasbourne @lovejoyworkshop - @cleverbloom often has potted plants for sale here!

Ashland (Side note, I love this town!!! Went to the Shakespeare Festival with my hubby pre-kids and stayed in an amazing B+B. Highly recommend visiting Ashland!)

  • *Bestow & Bloom https://bestowandbloom.com/ and @bestowbotanicals

Pennsylvania

  • *Longwood Gardens www.longwoodgardens.org

Rhode Island

  • *Peckham’s Greenhouse http://peckhamsgreenhouse.com

Tennessee

  • *Hewitt Garden & Design Center in Franklin. @hewitt_gc

Texas

Austin

  • *East Austin Succulents @eastaustinsucculents http://www.eastaustinsucculents.com/

  • *Tillery Street Plant Company http://www.tillerystreetplantcompany.com/ @tillerystplantco

  • *Natural Gardener http://www.naturalgardeneraustin.com/

  • *It's About Thyme http://itsaboutthyme.com/

Houston

  • *Buchanan's https://buchanansplants.com/ and @buchanansplants

  • *JRN Nursery 4809 Breen Dr, Houston, TX 77086

  • *Joshua's Nursery https://www.joshuasnativeplants.net/

  • *Indoor Sun Shoppe https://indoorsun.com/

San Antonio

  • *San Antonio Botanical Garden

Washington State

Seattle area

  • *Plant Shop Seattle  www.plantshopseattle.com and @plantshopseattle

  • *Urban Sprouts Store www.urban-sprouts.com/ and @urbansproutsstore

  • *Swanson's Nursery www.swansonsnursery.com/ and @swansonsnurseryseattle

  • *Volunteer Park Conservatory https://volunteerparkconservatory.org/

  • *Flower World www.flowerworldusa.com/ and @flowerworldusa

International

Amsterdam

  • *Hortus Botanicus

Australia

  • *Hass & Co plant shop - Perth

  • *Bar Botanik plant shop - Perth

  • *Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria - Melbourne and Cranbourne @royalbotanicgardensvic https://www.rbg.vic.gov.au/

  • *Wollongong Botanic Garden - New South Wales http://www.wollongong.nsw.gov.au/botanicgarden/Pages/default.aspx#gref

Belgium

  • *The Plant Corner @theplantcorner

Canada

  • *Fleuriste Abaca Montreal https://www.fleuristeabaca.com/en/ @fleuristeabaca

  • *Bloedel Conservatory (Vancouver area)

  • *Dynasty Toronto http://www.dynastytoronto.com/

  • *Valleyview Gardens Toronto http://valleyviewgardens.com/

  • *Cloud Gardens Conservatory (Toronto). Check the hours! per @leighkiyoko they have an amazing mounted staghorn and kokedama. https://www.toronto.ca/explore-enjoy/parks-gardens-beaches/gardens-and-horticulture/conservatories/cloud-gardens-conservatory/

  • *Terra Greenhouses (Toronto Area) https://www.terragreenhouses.com/

  • *Run and Gun Coffee @runandguncoffee Toronto

  • *Mika Fleur (Toronto) www.mikafleur.weebly.com @stuidomikafleur

  • *Cactus Fleuri Inc - Montreal area - https://www.cactusfleuri.ca/

  • *Stamen & Bistil Botanicals @stamenandpistilbotanicals www.stamenandpistilbotanicals.ca

Finland

  • *Viherpaja http://www.viherpaja.fi/

  • *Opuntia @opuntia_tre kukkakauppaopuntia.fi/

  • *Botanical Garden of the University of Tartu

France

  • *Leaf Paris @leaf.paris

  • *Atelier Green Factory https://www.greenfactory.fr/

  • *What the Flower https://whattheflower.com/ and @whattheflower_paris

  • *Jardin des Serres d'Auteuil http://equipement.paris.fr/jardin-des-serres-d-auteuil-1780

  • *Le Cactus Club @lecactusclub and www.lecactusclub.fr/

Germany

  • *The Botanical Room. Plant shop in Berlin. @thebotanicalroom www.thebotanicalroom.com

  • *Botanischer Zoological-Botanic Garden https://www.bgbm.org/en/home

Hungary

  • *Marc Zika Bonsai Studio. This looks like a botanical garden that also sells in store and online. Use google translator if needed, to navigate the site! https://www.bonsaistudio.hu/ Address: 2030 Érd, Napvirág u. 4-2. 4-2.

Malaysia

  • *Mulu National Park in Sarawak http://mulupark.com/

Netherlands

  • *Wildernis @wildernisamsterdam https://wildernisamsterdam.nl/

  • *Plantaardig Middelburg @plantaardigmiddelburg www.plantaardigmiddelburg.nl/

Philippines

  • *Qach Lifestyle Garden @qachlifestylegarden

Portugal

  • *Lisboa Jardim Botanico

Singapore

  • *Gardens by the Bay www.gardensbythebay.com

Spain

  • *Barcelona: Espai Joliu @espaijoliu http://espaijoliu.tumblr.com/

  • *Botanicactus in Ses Salines, Spain. www.botanicactus.com

Thailand

  • *Jim Thompson House http://www.jimthompsonhouse.com/

UK

  • *Kew https://www.kew.org/

  • *Conservatory Archives

  • *Barbican Conservatory

  • *The Eden Project, Cornwall @edenprojectcornwall

  • *Rose & Ammi Flower and Plant Shop in Edinburgh @roseandammi https://www.roseandammiflowers.com/

  • *Glasgow Botanic Garden http://www.glasgowbotanicgardens.com/

  • *Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh @rbgedinburgh http://www.rbge.org.uk/

  • *Petersham Nurseries www.petershamnurseries.com @petershamnurseries

  • *Forde Abbey and Gardens

  • *Prick London @prickldn

  • *Flower Warehouse @flowerwarehouse www.flowerwarehouse.co.uk/